UKAN+ Mathematical Acoustics Paper Prize

We are delighted to be hosting the first UKAN+ Mathematical Acoustics Paper Prize this year. A prize of £250 in Amazon vouchers and a certificate is offered by the UKAN+ Mathematical Analysis in Acoustics SIG for the best research paper in the broad area of Mathematical Acoustics written predominantly by a candidate who has not yet secured a permanent academic position. Mathematical Acoustics is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, and includes (but is not limited to) asymptotic analysis, applied analysis, numerical analysis, and mathematical modelling for acoustics problems.


The prize is open to anyone affiliated to a UK institution but not in a permanent academic position on the 1st August 2023. Current PhD students are encouraged to enter, and consideration for career stage will be given.

To be considered for the prize, candidates must be able to submit a piece of original work (research paper) in the area of Mathematical Acoustics, on which they are a named author. A joint paper may be submitted by a candidate, if the candidate has made major contributions to it. In that case a letter signed by the co-authors giving permission for submission and explaining the contribution of the candidate to the paper is required. There is no requirement that the paper has already been published, submitted for publication, or uploaded to a preprint server.

Shortlisted candidates are invited to present their work at the UKAN+ Mathematical Acoustics Workshop at University College London (UCL) on 18-19 September 2023. Only papers presented at the meeting will be eligible for prizes.


The 2023 UKAN+ Mathematical Acoustics Paper Prize has now been awarded, please check back early in 2024 for updates on next years edition.


Any questions concerning the prize should be sent by email to

2023 UKAN+ Mathematical Acoustics Paper Prize finalists

Martin Averseng (University of Bath)
Andrew Gibbs (University College London)
Valentin Kunz (University of Manchester)
Elena Medvedeva (University of Manchester)
Marie Touboul (Imperial College London)

2023 UKAN+ Mathematical Acoustics Paper Prize winner

Andrew Gibbs (University College London)