Symposium on Acoustic Metamaterials (SAM)

15 May - 17 May 2024

Aegina (Greece),

More info Register

The 4th Symposium on Acoustic Metamaterials (SAM) will be held from 15th to 17th of May 2024 in Aegina (Greece), organised by the Young Researchers in Acoustic Metamaterials (YRAM).

The Symposium on Acoustic Metamaterials (SAM) is mainly targeted to Early Career Investigators, PhD candidates, and those interested in expanding their knowledge about acoustic and elastic metamaterials. This symposium aims at sharing the latest advances and breakthroughs while fostering a community of young researchers in the field of acoustic/elastic metamaterials. The 4th SAM will consist of five sessions, featuring 30-35 regular talks of 20 minutes each by early-career researchers, and 4 plenary lectures, each lasting 1 hour, delivered by renowned researchers.

Plenary speakers:

  • Agnès Maurel, DR CNRS, Institut Langevin, ESPCI (FR)
  • Ada Amendola, Pr, University of Salerno, Salerno (IT)
  • Michael Haberman, Pr, The University of Texas, Austin (US)
  • Kosmas Tsakmakidis, Pr, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (GR)

Main topics covered by the 4th SAM:

 Acoustic/elastic metamaterials and phononic crystals;

– Acoustic/elastic metasurfaces;

– Non-reciprocity, parity-time symmetry and temporal modulation for the manipulation of acoustic/elastic waves;

– Non-linear, non-Hermitian and topological acoustic/elastic systems;

– New applications of metamaterial-based functional devices for acoustic sensing, cloaking, imaging, absorption, insulation, energy harvesting.

Additionally, we are delighted to extend an invitation for a cultural visit in Aegina on Thursday (May 16th) and to arrange an optional extra social day in Athens on Saturday (May 18th). We hope these events will provide more informal settings for continued discussions.

Participation fee for presenters/attendees is 250.00€. This fee covers 3 lunches + morning and afternoon catering + the Thursday’s cultural visit, from 15th to 17th of May 2024.

Registration is mandatory before submitting the Abstract:

– For attendees without a presentation, registration should be completed online before 15th April 2024.

– For presenters, Abstracts submission should be performed simultaneously with the registration before 15th March 2024.

Please visit our website for more information:

To get a glimpse of our previous editions, here are the respective links:,,


We are looking forwards to welcoming you all in Aegina and we kindly request your assistance in sharing this email and our website with individuals who may find interest in participating.

The Organising Committee

Matthieu Malléjac (EPFL, CH)

Théo Cavalieri (LAUM, FR)

Eric Ballestero (LAUM, FR)

Apostolos Paliovaios (LAUM, FR/NKUA, GR)

Femke De Bie (KU Leuven, BE)

Daniele Giannini (KU Leuven, BE)

Sebastiano Cominelli (Polimi, IT)

Ioannis Ioannou Sougleridis (LAUM, FR/NKUA, GR)

Lou-Anne Goutier (IEMN, FR)

Sarah Tessier Brothelande (IEMN, FR)

Yang Meng (LAUM, FR)

Posted on 8th February 2024 in Events, Early Careers Group